Downsizing & Deciding What’s Important

Flagellants mortifying the flesh, at the time ...

Image via Wikipedia

While getting ready for moving, I’ve been downsizing my possessions, trying to figure out what’s important, what I should keep or give away and what should be thrown away. The one thing that kick-started this process was a coworker having a yard sale and asking for donations. I gave away clothes, bedsheets and books by the pound. I felt light and free.

I think it’s time to downsize and decide what’s important in other areas of my life as well. I have too much stress and am not seeing any of the positive changes that I would like to see in my life, and I think it’s partly because I am holding on to a bunch of junk physically, spiritually, and emotionally.

The focus of my year was supposed to be on accountability–making sure that I was living up to the goals and expectations I made for myself, making adjustments where necessary, but always getting better. What actually happened is I turned it into a year of self-flagellation for not meeting goals. It became a pity party/ self-abuse session that has lasted nearly a year.

It’s time to refocus my mental energies. I need to concentrate on the things I have accomplished and those that I can still accomplish. I need to have an accountability partner who can help me identify areas in which I can improve, and ways in which I can achieve that improvement. 

I have grown a lot in the past year, and I can continue to do so if I approach life with the right attitude and work ethic. I’ve let too much negativity creep in. As I prepare myself for another year, I am vowing to remain positive and look for ways to reach my goals without berating myself. I will reward the minute progress I make towards achieving a goal as well as the completion of a goal. Rome wasn’t built in a day…all that jazz.

How are you going to emotionally downsize? What’s important to you that you’ve been neglecting, and what are you going to do about it?

This entry was posted in This Is How I Really Feel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

