Tipping Points

The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make ...

I really should read this book, right? Image via Wikipedia

I read a really good quote on a Personal Finance (PF) blog:

Obliviousness always reaches a tipping point.

This little truism struck me right in the solar plexus. I’ve been quite oblivious to a great many things in the past, and sure enough, things have reached a tipping point, a point where I can’t continue to ignore it or imagine that it will magically work itself out.

I have many different ways to deal with the scales falling off of my eyes in this way, but the most effective for me is to make a plan and stick to it. Making the plan is easy. I love organizing things, strategizing on how to do something, and coming up with Plan B in case Plan A doesn’t work. Sticking to the plan is much harder, especially when it comes to money or relationships.

 So, one of my goals this year has to be that I will be more aware. I won’t let things fester until they’ve been killed by an infection that was easily treated. I won’t ignore signs that I need to change the way I’m approaching something. I will keep an active eye on the things in my life that I’m in charge of. I will take the reins and keep my eyes open the entire time. I won’t miss opportunities because I was ignoring problems. I won’t rely of tipping points to bring me back to handling my business.

I’m sure we could all use a little reminder to be present and aware in some area of our lives, to not let some situation get out of control. Money and relationships are my two main problem areas. What are yours, and how do you plan to keep yourself engaged and aware in those areas? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

