What Makes You Sweat?

At this particular moment in time, I don’t mean your favorite workouts, things that stress you, or things that make you sick. I’m referring to the little recognized heroes of my workout experiences: songs.

One of the reasons I used to love walking and running so much, besides being able to be outside, was because I could put my headphones on and listen to my music as I did it. Don’t get me wrong; I am rediscovering other reasons to like being outside (more on that later), but this is one of those little recognized benefits.

I had a friend once who said somethign along the lines of people at races with their iPods on weren’t “real” runners. I was taken aback by this. I thought running had to do with what you do with your legs and body. However you focus yourself to do a race, more power to you. But she’s not the only one who has said something to that effect, or thinks as much. (Just so you know, I do not consider myself a runner, so this doesn’t have any bearing on me).

Everyone I see in the gym is wired for sound–whether it’s an ipod or their phone. The gym plays pulsing music of its own over the speakers. Every class I’ve been to have music–whether it’s the high octane party music favored by Body Attack and Cycling or the mellow introspective tones of a Body Flow soundtrack. On Dexter, one of the characters used to listen to hard pounding music on the treadmill until she hooked up with an older lover. All of a sudden, listening to classical and operatic music on the treadmill was a reverential experience.

I find that I choose different music to work out to than I would to just sit and listen to. Some of my workout guilty pleasure artist include Britney Spears, Sir Mix-A-Lot, Ke$ha, and the Black Eyed Peas/Fergie.  Here’s a sampling of my playlist from my three miles yesterday:

Vibe-N:Desloc Piccalo

Deja V-Beyoncé

Feedback-Janet Jackson-favorite lines “I got a body like a Z05, make a *@!#^ wanna test drive…fly-er than a pelican, find another chick better than? I don’t see her.”

Pretty Girl Rock-Keri Hilson

Baby Got Back-Sir Mix Alot–“L.A. Face with the Oakland Booty” “silicone parts are made for toys” “so Cosmo says you’re fat; well I ain’t done with that” “to the beanpole dames in the magazine: you ain’t it, Miss Thing.”

Intuition-Jewel–“Big butt is boss. Kate Moss can’t find a job.”

Black Sweat-Prince–“I don’t want to break your pride…but I got to. You betta take your woman and hide her…cause I’m about to…show you what’s really good. Break you off like you knew I would.”

Forget You-Cee-lo–“Look here, I’m sorry, I can’t afford a Ferrari, but that don’t mean I can’t get you there.”

What makes you sweat, musically speaking?

This entry was posted in Balance, Health/Exercise/Eating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

