The Shakes

I don’t know about you all, but for me, working out is hard. One of the hardest things about working out, for me, is that I often find my body is betraying me. I mean it. She is a total Benedict Arnold, a turn-coat.

One of the worst ways she betrays me? The shakes. There are some yoga poses that I can’t hold for a long time without getting the shakes BADLY. One of them is plank. I can hold a plank for a long time, but the problem I have is the shakes. I couldn’t hold a plank on one of those half of an exercise ball things; I’d fall off and crack my head. I shake so much it’s embarrassing.

I know some of you are thinking “shaking is good; all the workout dvds/trainers/yoga instructors say so.” I don’t tremble delicately like the people in the DVDs, people. I shake so hard, it looks like I may be having a seizure of stroke. I’m not entirely convinced it doesn’t feel that way, too. My face gets hot and tremors run from underneath my scalp to the bottoms of my toes.

My arms, though, are the worst offenders. After one particularly intense set of planks and side planks and dips, I couldn’t raise my arm to grab my mouse because the minute I lifted it, it flopped around like a fish in a boat.

I thought that through repetition, it would get better, but it hasn’t so far. Have you ever been afflicted with the shakes? Were you able to get over it? If so, how?

My body is currently failing me in other ways. One major way is my hip flexors/hip socket on the left side. It is hopelessly strained (by what, I don’t know). I can bring my left leg to my chest and release some of the tightness, but I cannot lay on my back and open my hips, or sit cross legged. The spot where my hip and leg connect is in pain. It’s a low throb most of the time all along the crease, but when I try to stretch my left leg to the side in any way, it’s a sharp pain. I don’t know if I pulled a groin muscle or what, but it HURTS.

It’s a hard area to ice and it hurts to sit on, which I do all day at work. It started as a pain in my thutt (where the butt meets the thigh) and now it’s an excruciating in the left side of my groin-ish region. My left knee hurts a bit, too. I’m twenty-six and my body is falling apart. HELP!!!

This entry was posted in Health/Exercise/Eating and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Shakes

  1. jsutera654 says:

    Hmmm not sure about the hip issue, I’d definitely have a doctor check it out though.
    As for the shakes? Two things – some shaking is good in yoga or core fusion style workouts as it shows that you are working very hard to hold a particular pose, it’s your muscles reacting. But if you are shaky on almost all moves? It could be that you need more upper body strength and should work on that, especially the chest area which will help you feel sturdier in those moves. Hope that helps!

    • 2blu2btru says:

      It’s not every move. It’s mostly the arms/chest intensive moves. My legs and core are pretty strong, but my arms/upper body aren’t very strong. I can’t do too many push ups. I’m OK with the modified planks for a lot longer. I think your advice is probably the best. Thanks for the advice/comment! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

