Suffering from Neglect

I have neglected this blog, all of my blogs, ever since August of this year. It’s been a whirlwind of writing, new job responsibilities, and goals for self-improvement that have fallen largely by the wayside for me. Since the year is rapidly coming to a close and I still have a LOT of work to do on me, I wanted to take a moment to reflect and plan here before things got even busier.

So the major changes that I’ve wanted to make are related to health/beauty and my apartment. As far as health and beauty, I haven’t been able to do much of what I set out to do. One thing I wanted to do is keep my hair done more. I have straightened it and worn it down more often than was usual for me the past three or four years, but it still hasn’t been consistent. I haven’t had the money or the time to engage a stylist, so I’ve been doing it on my own. Despite my inattentiveness, my hair has been growing like a weed.

Other than hair, I haven’t improved my wardrobe, lost weight, gotten more fit, or cleared my face as much as I would have liked. What my lack of progress in health/beauty and apartment goals comes down to is a lack in an effective routine. I’ve had a ton of success with writing this year as I’ve developed a set time/place to get some writing done, and a system for writing, reviewing, editing, and revising that has been working quite well for me. I don’t have a routine for the other areas of life yet that works for me.

I still haven’t found a real fitness passion, and at this point, I’m convinced I just don’t have one.  I had a conversation about fitness yesterday with MensHealth that I’m still processing, but overall I don’t feel very good about. I’m at the point where I’m not happy with a ton of things, but I’m not sure how to go about fixing them. I’ve gone full speed ahead on my writing goals, but I’ve seen no progress in other areas. I still have a small amount of the year left to make some positive changes, though. I just don’t know where to start.

Erica

This entry was posted in Health/Exercise/Eating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

